My walk for Syria

On the 26th of July I took part in a ‘Walk for Syria’ to raise money for the people in Syria. Two of my friends and I met up at Plaistow Station to head to Hyde Park, where it was taking place. We met up with three others in Hyde Park and all we had to do then was wait around until the walk began. I can be rather awkward socially sometimes. For the first ten minutes I was zoned out and just stood next to my friends as they conversed with each other. My incessant daydreaming can actually occasionally determine my position within a group as a “sideman”. My friends would call me that as a joke, of course, but sometimes I think I am. It used to bother me, but my friends always assure me that my participation within the group is satisfactory.

IMG_0847

A friend of a friend, who is now my friend, was doing the same it seemed. So, I decided to have a friendly chat with him. I’m only a chatter box with people I’m close with; otherwise if you meet me for the first time the conversation between you and me will most probably be boring due to my lack of contribution to it. That’s what I think, and when people say this is not true I assume they’re just being nice. Anyway, after yelling “Allah Hu Akabar” in unison several times before the walk commenced, this young man, Tabz I shall refer to him as within this post, and I ended up walking together throughout most of the day. The others were either far ahead or far behind us. It’s still a huge mystery how this had happened.

On the way, however, we strode past many water fountains, a bridge and a large lake. At one point my friend Tan, who was up ahead, called me.

Tan: “Where abouts are you?”

Me: “I’m approaching a car park.”

Tan: “Okay good. You’re going to see a bridge and then there’s going to be a U turn around some fountains and –”

Me: “Oh wait! There’s a swan! Let me take a pic quickly.” I knelt to the ground and took a photograph of a beautiful creature that’s casually sitting right in the middle of our path. I was rather perplexed that it didn’t at all fear human beings walking by literally inches away from it. I continued on nonetheless.

IMG_0987

Me: “Yeah.”

Tan: “Yeah, after the fountains you’ll pass the same bridge again but on the other side.”

Me: “Yeah.”

Tan: “Got it?”

Me: “Yeah…” I think.

After much chatter with Tabz about topics relating to secondary school, mutual friends, our future studies and annoying haircuts, we got there in the end and received our well deserved certificates! It was all very positive and chilled. We took several selfies and then searched for a place to sit down and break our fast with the free food they provided. This time I think I actually did feel my heart sing when I sat with my fellow brothers and sisters and ate rice with chicken. Or maybe this feeling was due to the fact that the food was free.

Me holding my certificate :D

Me holding my certificate 😀

The sunset was strong :)

The sunset was strong 🙂

Furthermore, we prayed Maghrib Salah in the park, which always feels epic. Just before some of us departed to go home our separate ways, we all said farewell to each other with hugs and handshakes. I, on the other hand, returned to my daydreaming when my friend, Kay, tried to go for a hug and I completely didn’t notice.

Kay: “Oh my God! So rude, Niyad.”

Me: “Huh?”

Kay: “You rejected my hug!”

Me: “Oh sorry!” I opened my arms to hug her, but she turned away sulkily.

Kay: “Nope, it’s too late now.”

I guess I am a sideman after all.

3 thoughts on “My walk for Syria

Leave a comment